Weird Dreams

Weird Dreams illustration pencil

I had that kind of night when you can sleep 12 hours and still cannot rest. Because of all these dreams. Lots of dreams. I woke up several times in the night and every time remembered what I just saw in my dreams. And it seems like the one dream continued through the night. It changed and had different storylines (if you can call these messy things in your dreams “the lines”), but the main plot was about the same things. It was weird dream, spooky and nightmarish, and even the bright moments had this sad atmosphere.

But yet, there was one scene that I really liked and in the morning remembered very clearly. I was in some room where there were tiny round creatures, who said that they lived in underwater. But somebody had catched them and put in this house. They were light yellow and had big eyes and they seemed very sad, maybe because they were so far from home. They said that they eat wood what they can find in underwater, usually the remains of a shipwreck or wood that had drifted there from the coast. And then I remember taking them outside, they were so little that I could put plenty of them in my pocket. In the garden there were some old wooden houses and many trees. And if they saw all this wood, their big eyes went wider and bigger and they were so surprised. They had never seen so much wood in their life.

And if I woke up, I didn’t want to forget this dream and these little creatures, so I drew this scene. πŸ™‚ I have seen weirder stuff in my dreams before, but still this dream touched me in a certain way. Maybe because this sadness what these little creatures felt or maybe because this moment when they saw all these houses and trees and felt something like hope or brief happiness.

How about you? Do you often see dreams? And do you still remember some of your dreams because there were something so extraordinary or weird? πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Weird Dreams

    • I believe that you see very extraordinary dreams, Johanna, but you just don’t remember them when you wake up. Our brain is so selective. I often see dreams but I in the morning I remember only few things if anything. And I believe that our dreams tell us something about us. Maybe you are so afraid of getting nothing done and that’s why such dreams?
      And don’t worry, I usually also see quite boring stuff. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi Hanna. Yes, I do remember my dreams, but only sometimes, and normally it is only one dream that night (not like you describe, an on-going dream that leaves you feeling unrested). Occasionally, my dreams do feel significant for different reasons, and I have at times described them in my diary so I can remember. I enjoy the sketch you shared of your little creatures!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Carina! πŸ™‚
      I also usually see one or few dreams per night or nothing at all. But sometimes there are these on-going ones. Once I had some weeks long period where every night there were so many dreams. That was exhausting!
      It’s good idea to wrote your significant or interesting dreams to diary. I think I should also do that. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing your dream, Hanna. You wrote it and illustrated it beautifully :-). Your dream seems lovely, melancholy and magical to me. Your little creatures remind me of the forest spirits in Princess Mononoke. Your dream also reminded me of the book 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami – it has a similar beautiful, melancholic and magical feel with a deep connection to nature and the existence of another world which is mysteriously connected to our own.

    I rarely dream but recently I dreamed that I had a bunch of papers in my hand. One was an envelope. When I opened it, it had tiny, glowing orange balls in it, kind of like fireflies. When they left the envelope, they exploded into tiny fireworks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment, Myriam! πŸ™‚
      Melancholy! Yes, it’s exactly the right word to describe that dream and what I felt seeing it. To me they remind these little black creatures from Spirited Away, so there must be something anime-like in these little things. πŸ˜€ I haven’t read 18Q4 yet, but it sounds so interesting that I definitely read it soon.
      And your recent dream seems so lovely and magical too. Isn’t it nice to see magical dreams? πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

