It’s a Technological Trap

Technological Trap illustration colour pencils

Less than a week ago, I walked home through the city and when I stopped because the red light, looked around me. And what I saw, quite scared me. All people in my sight were looking into their phone! I tried to find ONE single person who don’t, but I couldn’t. And then I thought – thank god that my smartphone broke few month ago and now I have an old phone, and it’s such a nightmare to use Internet with that. So I rather not. Because I also had this addiction for smartphone. I remember walking and texting all the way to home or work, not to mention how much I used it in home. And I remember how few time I had for things I love. You can see how little I submitted new works in December and January.

Of course I believe that some of these people just were looking what the time is or just got the new message or smth like that. But also I am certain that many of these people were addicted like I were. I am nothing against the smartphones, I rather find them very useful. But as you can overconsume everything, you can overconsume Internet. And I rather look at the beautiful sky or trees or birds if walking, not at my phone. And maybe one day I’ll buy myself again the smartphone, but even then I want to I enjoy that wonderful world around me, not being trapped into the technological world.

 

13 thoughts on “It’s a Technological Trap

  1. Oh absolutely – I’ve started going for a half-hour walk every day without fail, rain or shine (I have to drive 3-4 miles to get somewhere to walk!) because otherwise i use the computer for my job all day. I try to use my smartphone only to take a picture or check the time. It’s a conscious effort all the time to avoid what you are describing. Your illustration captures the danger brilliantly!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, really? There aren’t any walking places nearby? That’s sad! I usually walk home from work. I want to walk to work too, but every morning I’m getting late and then must run and catch the bus. πŸ˜€
      Now, when I don’t have smartphone again, I realize how much I’ve missed just walking and watch everything around me. Like when I was a kid. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I Agree, I have nothing against smartphones, have one myself. And with two sons abroad…I am very happy with all these new forms of communications. But I feel that people are losing something when always having one eye on their phone. When I walk my dog , I see almost everyone looking at their phone, not at their dog/child/mother Nature…and I have almost been ran over already 2x by texting drivers who did not see me and lost track of their side of the road…god thing I was NOT looking at my phone at those occasions ;o) Great image! xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly, Johanna! I think also that smartphones are so good inventions. I especially loved the chance to use Google Maps wherever I was. Because I’m such a bad in orientation and can be lost almost everywhere.
      But what I think is that normal use of smartphones can so easily grow to addiction. And I’m happy that I could cure myself before it was too late.
      I am so glad that you noticed these drivers in time. Texting drivers are so dangerous.
      Be careful! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great illustration :-)! It captures perfectly that effect of smartphones putting people in their own little bubbles. And I love all those tiny colourful flowers. I like being in my smartphone bubble when I am on the bus or train, but when I am walking, I only answer urgent calls or texts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Myriam! πŸ™‚
      It’s exactly what I think. I love being in book bubble if I am on the bus. But imagine me reading while walking. I can easily end up in hospital. πŸ˜€ And that is like texting drivers or kids who play games in their phone while walking. It’s lovely to be in bubble sometimes but you can’t stay there forever. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Hanna, Yes, I agree there is a danger of people becoming slaves to their smart phones whilst they are oblivious to what is happening around them. In Australia, it is against the law to use a mobile phone whilst driving. Myself, I do not have the internet on my phone preferring to use the internet at home on my computer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment, Margaret! πŸ™‚
      In Estonia it is also against the law, but many people still do it. I prefer computer as well, because I love to use keyboard and mouse. I’m quite hopeless in using touchscreens. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

