The Time With No Ideas

I believe you all have been there: your head is totally empty and you can’t think about any idea which is satisfying enough for you to want to fulfill it. I guess this is what they call “art block”*. I have been there thousand times.

And the same happened me again this January. This is the reason why there haven’t been new picture almost a month. But even if it was idea free period, it wasn’t entirely drawing free. I did some sketches and random pictures and experimented little with aquarelle pencils I got for Christmas (really cool stuff!)

dav

Two little girls with very different mood:

And finally, this is poster I made for poetry club that takes place in our library once in every month (I made one also in December, but it’s too ugly to show you πŸ˜€ ):

luuleklubi-plakat2-2

Yesterday, after heavy thinking, I finally received some ideas, so I hope I can say this idea-free period is over now. πŸ™‚

* I searched quotes about art block and I found this gem from writer and illustrator Dave Horowitz:

β€œTo get over artist’s block, make shitty art.”

πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Thank you for your visit!

12 thoughts on “The Time With No Ideas

    • Absolutely! If there actually is shitty art at all. Because every person’s taste in art is so different and even if someone draw something she/he thinks is ugly as hell, there can be someone somewhere who thinks it’s cool or funny or beautiful.
      But I also think the advice is good.
      If someone has this “art block” then she/he should just draw without pressure, without thinking if someone likes the result or is this turn out great or not, because it can really help to relax and when you are relaxed then you can create something “better”. πŸ™‚
      Sorry for so long response. πŸ˜€
      Thank you for your comment! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, everbody handles an art block in a different way. So doing shitty art doesn’t mean it’s shitty at all. It’s just different or more simple than you are used to. When I’m having an art block, I usually do something completely different. If it doesn’t work to go on with my digital webcomic, I’m doing some pencils or watercolor. It usually helps πŸ˜ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

    • And some other times there are plenty of great ideas, but no time to fulfill them. πŸ˜€
      But talking about inspiration, being in the nature or spending time with good friends are also great help. πŸ™‚
      Only one thing certainly doesn’t help as I’ve noticed – staying at home and worrying about it. πŸ™‚
      Cheers! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Funny quote! Your “shitty” art is really cute. I think “shitty” art is just practice art, sometimes with not much of a starting idea. Art art, I suppose, is a project that fulfills a big idea. But sometimes “shitty” art can become art art because you somehow get inspired. I like the rush of having a big idea and carrying it out. But then I’m also afraid of how it will turn out.

    Thanks for sharing your sketches! I think it is super cool that you can draw people in action and give them different moods. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, well all of those drawings look great! Pretty impressive… Looks like you were working right through the block! That drawing of the happy girl is my favourite- very endearing. Lots of expression in all of the pieces. Also love the poster.

    Haha – That’s a great quote. And it’s a good reminder, actually, because too often we are held back by our own standards. Thanks for sharing. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been missing – my dad died but I have now managed to get up to date and just wanted to say if no picture begs to be drawn then don’t! I find if I am busy doing something else then things to draw start pushing to get my attention, but if I try to think of something then nothing comes to mind!

    Like

    • I agree with you, Eleanor. The best source for inspiration is doing something else for a while.
      Thank you for commenting. πŸ™‚
      And be strong. It’s hard to lose someone you love.

      Like

Leave a Reply

